Community 14 December 2021

Meet k6 maintainer Oleg Bespalov

Floor Drees

    Oops, we did it again! We hired another team member! Say 'hi' to Oleg Bespalov, originally from Moscow, Russia, but currently living in Vienna, Austria. Meet the rest of the bunch on our team's page.


    What made you join k6 / Grafana Labs?

    The main reason is that I believe that Grafana Labs / k6 has a strong engineering culture. I felt it during my interview process, and I can confirm that it's the case, after a few weeks of being onboard.

    A big factor was also that k6 is open-source. It's exciting and challenging for me because I previously worked in a completely different area.

    And last but not least: k6 is a remote-first company. That seems to me like the winning strategy, so why not join the bandwagon?!

    What's your background?

    My background is in web development. I've worked as a full-stack developer, as well as purely backend engineer. I used different programming languages, probably the most commonly known ones are PHP and Python.

    After a while, I discovered a magical world of microservices, and I learned about Golang since it's perfectly suited for this type of architecture. I am also interested in the DevOps culture, and continuously invest in my skills here.

    What did you show off (or: find) during your Week of Testing?

    TL;DR I found an amazing product!

    I haven't used k6 before, which gave me a chance to look at the tool with fresh eyes. I walked through the documentation/examples and was amazed at how powerful and easy-to-use k6 really is.

    The documentation covers a lot of use cases, and the examples are close to the real world. The blog is active and contains valuable how-to's. I made a couple of pull requests, but no big apparent shortcomings!

    What do you do outside of work?

    I enjoy visiting new countries, trying fresh food, sightseeing, and exploring new cultures. I love Europe because we have no borders here, and I wish to see a world where this is the standard.

    I enjoy hiking, the mountains, and generally being outdoors. That's one of the reasons why I moved to Austria. Running is a meditative activity for me. It helps clear the mind.

    I'm also interested in Numismatics (I collect coins). I have several albums where I keep coins. The rule is that the coins should be regular ones; it's even better if it has some scratches. I believe that coins will disappear before long, which gives this kind of collection its unique charm.

    Eager to join a fast growing company? Have a look at our open positions and apply today!

    < Back to all posts